Capturing Kids’ Hearts by Alma Mejorado

“If you have a child’s heart, you have his head.”™ – Flip Flippen The primary focus of Capturing Kids’ Hearts is to develop healthy relationships between members of a school’s educational community and to teach effective skills that help participants:

  • Develop safe, trusting, self-managing classrooms
  • Improve classroom attendance by building students’ motivation and helping them take responsibility for their actions and performance
  • Decrease delinquent behaviors such as disruptive outbursts, violent acts, drug use and other risky behavior
  • Utilize the EXCEL Model™ and reinforce the role of emotional intelligence in teaching
  • Develop students’ empathy for diverse cultures and backgrounds

The EXCEL Model

E Engage students through a personal greeting
X Explore the needs students have and the good that is developing in their lives
C Communicate caring thoughts that are specifically relevant to the student
E Empower students to practice doing what is good
L Launch students with a sendoff each day that helps them to aspire to excellence

Social Contract

  1. How do you want to be treated by me (the teacher)?
  2. How do you want to be treated by others?
  3. How do you think I (the teacher) want to be treated by you?
  4. How do we treat each other when there is conflict?

324f3ccb581d1096e71a69cd3d7a4260

Affirmations

Affirmations are short notes that you give to someone to tell them something nice that you have noticed about them or to give them a compliment.  Students give affirmations to each other and our staff is really great about giving affirmations as well. Use the social contract as a tool for affirming others.

IMG_0076

Flippen, F., & White, C. (2007). The flip side: Break free of the behaviors that hold you back. New York: Springboard Press.

For more information visit http://www.flippengroup.com/education/ckh.html

5 thoughts on “Capturing Kids’ Hearts by Alma Mejorado

  1. Howdy Alma,
    I really enjoyed you blog post. I am actually a big fan of Capturing Kids Hearts, I first saw this in my field experience. Your description of the discipline model went hand and hand with what I saw in the classroom. I really love the EXCEL model, because this allows students to see that you are there to make sure they succeed. I feel this makes students feel secure in the classroom. I also really like the idea of the “social contract,” I actually plan to utilize this in my future classroom. Because I feel student will want to abide by rules they created themselves with the guidance of an educator. The affirmations are such a great idea in the classroom, because this makes students feel proud of themselves and boost their self confidence.

    Abigail Perez

    Like

  2. Maritza,

    I found your post very informational. I’ve seen this program or strategy in both of my field placements and I enjoy it. I like the quote that if you have a kid’s heart you have his head because I truly believe in that. Great job and good choice of topic! Before this semester I would have never known what that was.

    Like

  3. Hi,

    I am a second grade Dual Language teacher with the Houston Independent School District. I definitely agree with the quote “if you have a child’s heart, you have his head” because I see that positive affirmations encourage my students to keep trying and put a smile on their face. It is something I try to consciously do everyday because unfortunately the only time they hear anything positive is when they are in school.

    Like

  4. Howdy Alma!

    I like this blog post a lot! You did a great job of being creative, and coming up with different ways to involve/include your students. I love the affirmations section. I know they always helped me get through school. The quote was a great opener as well.
    What do you think you will use most in the classroom? Just curious.

    Great Job!

    -Katherine Gaubert

    Like

Leave a Reply

